Project VOICE Live in Manila (aka the night I met the K’s)

IMG_7802

It was an insane, impulsive decision, one I will never EVER regret my entire life.

IMG_7848

Last Sunday, I saw Sarah Kay and Phil Kaye perform in person.

Yes. IN PERSON.

And for those who are unfamiliar with their work and are therefore unsure why this entry has a manic edge to it, they are spoken word poets who have taken the internet by storm. They have since gone on to jointly form Project VOICE where they go to schools and communities performing and teaching poetry.

My friends and I waited in line for over four hours to see their show. Four glorious hours which we spent in spirited discussions, mostly revolving around the work of these two talented people. The wait was well worth it because damn did we get good seats!

IMG_7807I have seen videos of their performances online many times. I am familiar enough with their work that I was able to identify the title of the piece by their description before they performed it. Even with that familiarity, I was not immune to the powerful effect of their live performance.

I am not ashamed to admit that I found myself on the verge of tears several times during the show. The emotions were still so real, so raw even after the many times they have performed. It was a privilege to be in that room with them, to feel the energy and the spirit of their words come to life.

At the end of the show, we got to buy their books from them, got to shake theirIMG_7864hands and generally fangirl at them. (I may have, at some point, screamed at Sarah Kay out of sheer excitement, I am so so sorry about that)

It was a magically surreal evening filled with beautiful words and wonderful conversations. All that thanks to Project VOICE with the tireless efforts of Words Anonymous. Please do check out their sites because these talented, generous people are worth a few minutes of your time.

 

3 thoughts on “Project VOICE Live in Manila (aka the night I met the K’s)”

Share your thoughts

