My Old Man

My old man is a silly old thing
With a funny laugh, a funny walk,
a funny way of puttering.

He collects the oddest things:
broken glasses, watches,
chargers and rings.

He likes to make up silly songs
with made up words
sang all day long.

He smells like cabinets and clothes,
Sunday afternoons,
and long winding roads.

He somehow knows, my silly old man
that hugs cheer me up
like nothing else can.

And I just know that my old man
Would come rescue me,
just because he can.

That’s just what he’s like,
My silly old man.

(For Dad, my forever silly old man. Happy birthday!)

Share your thoughts

