The Plunge

I hesitate at the tunnel entrance. Before me lies the unknown expanse of cold and darkness I am to go through alone.

“Anything can happen in there,” I say, fear stuttering my words.

That’s the point.

“What if I get lost?” I take a step back. A hand on my arm stops further retreat.

You’ll find your way.

Without warning I am pushed across the threshold into the darkness.

After long moments of fear and hesitation, I take one tentative step forward. Emboldened, I slowly take another step, and another.

Then I realize that I have begun to move forward.

xxxxx

(For Gil who, every day, urges me on.)
3 thoughts on “The Plunge”

Share your thoughts

